Grief and loss
Grief and loss

Loss is an inevitable part of our life. Many of us have dealt with a relationship breakup or loss of a job for example. Some of us will experience loss due to a relocation or immigration. Others deal with a serious illness, loss of a physical ability, or loss of a previous role. The most painful loss is death: a parent, a partner, a family member, a close friend, a colleague. Experiencing loss is the most difficult time in a person’s life, and each of you may continue the list with your own loss experiences.

As a result of loss, each person has a unique reaction to it—the grieving process. Grief is a natural part of the healing process. In 1969, Elizabeth Kubler-Ross identified five stages of grief:

1. Denial
2. Anger
3. Bargaining
4. Depression
5. Acceptance

Some people go slowly through the stages or move quickly through some stages and get stuck in one stage, or even return to one stage over and over. Grief is not a linear process; it is more often a cyclical experience. If a person feels stuck in one of the stages of grief and can’t cope, then talking to a counselor will help to move forward in the healing process.

Each of us experiences loss differently, and each of us has different ways to cope with the loss. Only you know what works best for your personality and lifestyle.

Here is a list of general ideas what might help to manage your feelings of grief:
• Self-compassion
• Self-kindness
• Letting yourself feel grief
• Creating rituals
• Spiritual support
• Friends and family support
• Engaging in social activities
• Exercising
• Eating healthy
• Taking time to relax